Fall in Ohio

13 Oct

As expected, Mitch and my’s time in Italy has been amazing. We learn new things about wine, Italy, the world and ourselves everyday. As great as Italy is though, the fall season just doesn’t feel the same as home in Northeast Ohio. Now believe me I’m not typically one to get homesick, but fall just doesn’t feel like fall without certain things we have both grown up with and become accustomed to. Some of our fall favorites include, but are certainly not limited to:

Football! Be it college or high school, fall just doesn’t the same without the ole’ pigskin getting thrown around and someone unfailingly complaining about this coach and that referee. Although the Ohio University gods were smiling on me when the OU vs Penn State randomly played in Italy, the utter lack of football (American football of course) has been tough.

Our pet bunny, Indie, last year playing in the leaves!

One thing Ohio does exceptionally well in the fall is festivals and I eat up every one! Since I was a little girl my mom and I have gone to the Algonquin Mill Festival in Carroll County, Ohio. Put on by the Carroll County Historical Society, the festival offers everything from the steam powered flour mill to Carroll County genealogical informational it is a fest for the stomach as much as the eyes. My personal favorites are the apple butter with cinnamon and stone ground flour we store and use all year around.  My other favorite fall festival the Great Trail Festival in Malvern, Ohio. Clog dancing, fiddlers, living Colonial America and Storybook Craft Villaga are some things the festivals has do brag about, but my personal obsession has to be the ham and bean soup. I love it! The last festival is one of much smaller scale, but closer to the heart. The Constitution Festival in Louisville boasts a pageant, parade and Music in Motion band competition. All family friendly fall festivals that are Ohio specific!

Fall food in Ohio is a treat for the taste buds that the best tiramisu can’t match. Hot apple Cider, pumpkin pie topped with Cool Whip, and OktoberFests, specifically Cellar Rats InFestation! We are hoping to have a bonfire with some friends to make them some of our American favorites soon. This came up because they hadn’t heard of many of our delicious fall foods or activities. We hope to give them a small taste of what we call fall! This might be the nesting bug bitting me, but I love decorating inside and out for fall! It’s great because god does all the work in fall, natural beauty in the leaves changing, bails of straw, gourds, pumpkins, mums, corn stalks and scare crows. It’s funny because many of these things exist in Italy, but just aren’t as visible or used to give that fall feeling as much as at home. So as wonderful as fall in Italy has been, we would both take a weekend in Ohio this time of year to enjoy family, friends, food and festivals!

 

 

One Response to “Fall in Ohio”

  1. Mom October 15, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Well I miss going to the festivals with you also!!! The Algonquin Mill Festival was this past weekend and the weather was great! So… many vendors told me it was probably a record year for attendance. I was so excited when I went in the flour mill and they said the cornmeal this year is all ORGANIC!!! So I stocked up along with buckwheat and whole wheat flours!!
    As I read your blog today, I was reminiscing about past Algonquin Mill festivals, we’ve attended and remembered the year I dressed you as a little pioneer girl. You were so cute. Of course Aunt Deb went with us and thought I was a lunatic for doing such a thing, but everyone there thought you were part of the festival. Well enough of me rambling on about you as a beautiful child.
    You’ll have to make them s’mores. I’ll send extra marshmellows.
    Love ya

Leave a Reply

Social Media Marketing 4 Business

Thoughts on Social Media, Innovation, and Higher Education

italianrunway

STYLE............... Modus Vivendi!

Toronto's treating me good...

at least I hope it is...

evanmillward

Just another WordPress.com site

Life as it happens

From my eyes.

Ohio University Women's Center

The Official Blog of the Ohio U Women's Center

TheWineBlog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Janine Aquino's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

ouspjincdotcom1.wordpress.com/

The Official Independent voice of E.W. Scripps School of Journalism Students

Create, Connect, Communicate

Just another WordPress.com site

Young Mom Adventures

Just another mom navigating motherhood

The WordPress.com Blog

Follow as my fiancé Mitchell and I experience the love and beauty of our adventures ........ Current adventure: Learning to have fun, stay local and healthy in Canton, Ohio

